List of U.S. Presidents Who Died In Office

List of U.S. Presidents Who Died In Office

President Lincoln

President Lincoln


President Kennedy

President Kennedy

Presidents Lincoln and Kennedy are perhaps the best known of the Presidents Who Died in Office

 U.S. Presidents

Who Died In Office

Since the adoption of the U.S. Constitution in 1787, and the inauguration of our first president in 1789, only 43 men have served as President of the United States , and Barack Obama became the newest president when he was sworn in on January 20, 2009. Obama is considered the 44th president, even though 43 have served. One president served twice in non-consecutive terms, and is therefore counted twice.

Of those 43 presidents, eight have died while serving as president. Four of natural causes, and four through assassination. Below is list of those eight presidents who died in office.

William Henry Harrison -The 9th President, who died in 1841 of pneumonia and pleurisy.

Zachary Taylor –The 12th President, who died in 1850 of bilious fever, typhoid fever, and cholera morbus, following a heat stroke.

Abraham Lincoln–The 16th President, was assassinated in 1865. Lincoln was the first of four presidents to be assassinated.

James Garfield–The 20th President, who was assassinated in 1881.

William McKinley–The 25th President, who was assassinated 1901.

Warren G. Harding –The 29th President, who died in 1923 of a suspected heart attack

Franklin Delano Roosevelt –The 32nd President, who died in 1945, of a cerebral hemorrhage

John F. KennedyThe 35th President, who was assassinated in 1963.

No U.S. Presidents have died in office since John Kennedy’s death.


[xyz-ihs snippet=”textwhiteleaderboardbanner”]

See also the List of Presidents of the United States



Comments are closed, but trackbacks and pingbacks are open.

Popular Pages