U.S. House Democratic Leadership

Democratic Donkey Symbol


With the losses they incurred in the 2010 midterm elections, the Democratic Party lost control of the House of Representatives, and has remained in the minority ever since.

House Democratic Leadership for the 115th Congress (2017-2019)

Minority Leader -Nancy Pelosi (CA-08)

Minority Whip-Steny H. Hoyer (MD-05)

Assistant Minority Leader-James E. Clyburn (SC-06)

Democratic Caucus Chairman-Xavier Becerra (CA-34th)

Senior Chief Deputy Minority-Whip John Lewis (GA-5th)



**The term "whip" comes from an old English expression used in the fox hunt where the "whipper in" was charged with keeping the dogs together in pursuit of the prize  

Democratic Committee Homepages

Budget Committee Democrats

Education and the Workforce Committee Democrats

Resources Committee


Transportation and Infrastructure Committee Democrats


Copyright 1998-2017 History Guy Media; Last Modified: 01.03.17

"The History Guy" is a Registered Trademark.

Contact the webmaster

Subscribe to our War, Conflict, & History Newsletter

* indicates required

More Info