Presidents of the United States

 Living American Presidents

The Living U.S. Presidents (George H.W. Bush, George W. Bush, Bill Clinton, and Jimmy Carter) Meeting with President-Elect Obama at the White House on January 7, 2009

Presidents of the United States, featuring biographical files on America's Presidents. Click on the blue links to see individual biography pages on the presidents and vice-presidents.
American Presidents and their Vice-Presidents:

Presidents and Vice-Presidents of the United States since the ratification and implementation of the Federal Constitution and the election of the first president (George Washington).

Format and Symbols use on this page:

Name of President (Years in office)--Political Party ( Federalist , Democratic-Republican , Democrat , Whig , Republican )
Name of Vice-President (Years in office)

Symbols: =Died in office, * = Assassinated in office, *= Survived Assassination attempt

NOTE: Where the word "none" is in place of a vice-president's name, that means that their was no vice-president at that time. Until the 25th Amendment to the Constitution, which took effect in in 1967, there was no legal procedure to replace a vice-president who became president upon the death of the sitting president, resigned, or died in office. Until President Nixon appointed Gerald Ford to be his new vice-president (following Vice-President Agnew's resignation), in 1974, all vacancies remained unfilled until the next presidential election and the inauguration of the new vice-president. In the case of both Vice-Presidents Ford and Rockefeller, a few months did pass without a sitting vice-president while they awaited confirmation by the Senate.

George Washington (1789-1797) -No party (though many historians consider him to be a Federalist )

John Adams (1789-1797) -Federalist

John Adams (1797-1801)-Federalist

Thomas Jefferson (1797-1801) -Democratic-Republican

Thomas Jefferson (1801-1809) -Democratic-Republican

Aaron Burr (1801-1805) -Democratic-Republican

George Clinton (1805-1809) -Democratic-Republican

James Madison (1809-1817) -Democratic-Republican

George Clinton (1809-1812) -Democratic-Republican

No Vice-President (1812-1813)

Elbridge Gerry (1813-1814) -Democratic-Republican

No Vice-President (1814-1817)

James Monroe (1817-1825) -Democratic-Republican

Daniel D. Tompkins (1817-1825) -Democratic-Republican

John Quincy Adams (1825-1829) -Whig

John C. Calhoun (1825-1829)

Andrew Jackson (1829-1837) * -Democrat

John C. Calhoun (1829-1832) -Democrat

No Vice-President (1832-1833)

Martin Van Buren (1833-1837) -Democrat

Martin Van Buren (1837-1841) -Democrat

Richard M. Johnson (1837-1841) -Democrat

William Henry Harrison (1841) -Whig

John Tyler (1841) -Whig

John Tyler (1841-1845) -Whig, then no party (he was expelled from the Whig Party soon after becoming President)

No Vice-President (1841-1845)

James K. Polk (1845-1849) -Democrat

George M. Dallas (1845-1849) -Democrat

Zachary Taylor (1849-1850) -Whig

Millard Fillmore (1849-1850) -Whig

Millard Fillmore (1850-1853)-Whig

No Vice-President (1850-1853)

Franklin Pierce (1853-1857) -Democrat

William King (1853) -Democrat

No Vice-President (1853-1857) -Democrat

James Buchanan (1857-1861) -Democrat

John C. Breckinridge (1857-1861) -Democrat

Abraham Lincoln (1861-1865) * -Republican

Hannibal Hamlin (1861-1865) -Republican

Andrew Johnson (1865) -Democrat

Andrew Johnson (1865-1869) -Democrat

No Vice-President (1865-1869)

Ulysses S. Grant (1869-1877) -Republican

Schuyler Colfax (1869-1873) -Republican

Henry Wilson (1873-1875) -Republican

No Vice-President (1875-1877)

Rutherford B. Hayes (1877-1881) -Republican

William Wheeler (1877-1881) -Republican

James A. Garfield (1881) * -Republican

Chester Arthur (1881) -Republican

Chester Arthur (1881-1885) -Republican

No Vice-President (1881-1885)

Grover Cleveland (1885-1889) -Democrat

Thomas Hendricks (1885) -Democrat

No Vice-President (1885-1889)

Benjamin Harrison (1889-1893) -Republican

Levi P. Morton (1889-1893)

Grover Cleveland (1893-1897) -Democrat

Adlai E. Stevenson (1893-1897) -Democrat

William McKinley (1897-1901) †* -Republican

Garret Hobart (1897-1901) -Republican

Theodore Roosevelt (1901)-Republican

Theodore Roosevelt (1901-1909)* -Republican (Roosevelt was shot while campaigning after he left office)

No Vice-President (1901-1905)

Charles Fairbanks (1905-1909) -Republican

William Howard Taft (1909-1913) -Republican

James S. Sherman (1909-1912) -Republican

No Vice-President (1912-1913)

Woodrow Wilson (1913-1921) -Democrat

Thomas R. Marshall (1913-1921) -Democrat

Warren G. Harding (1921-1923) -Republican

Calvin Coolidge (1921-1923) -Republican

Calvin Coolidge (1923-1929) -Republican

No Vice-President (1923-1925)

Charles Dawes (1925-1929) -Republican

Herbert Hoover (1929-1933) -Republican

Charles Curtis (1929-1933) -Republican

Franklin D. Roosevelt (1933-1945) -Democrat*(A sniper tried to shoot FDR after his first election, but before he was inaugurated)

John Nance Garner (1933-1941) -Democrat

Henry A. Wallace (1941-1945) -Democrat

Harry S Truman (1945) -Democrat

Harry S Truman (1945-1953)* -Democrat

No Vice-President (1945-1949)

Alben Barkley (1949-1953) -Democrat

Dwight D. Eisenhower (1953-1961) -Republican

Richard Nixon (1953-1961) -Republican

John F. Kennedy (1961-1963) * -Democrat

Lyndon B. Johnson (1961-1963) -Democrat

Lyndon B. Johnson (1963-1969) -Democrat

No Vice-President (1963-1965)

Hubert Humphrey (1965-1969) -Democrat

Richard Nixon (1969-1974) * -Republican

Spiro Agnew (1969-1973) -Republican

No Vice-President (1973)

Gerald Ford (1973-1974) -Republican

Gerald Ford (1974-1977)* -Republican

No Vice-President (1974)

Nelson Rockefeller (1974-1977) -Republican

Jimmy Carter (1977-1981) -Democrat

Walter Mondale (1977-1981) -Democrat

Ronald Reagan (1981-1989) * -Republican

George H.W. Bush (1981-1989) -Republican

George H. W. Bush (1989-1993) -Republican

Dan Quayle (1989-1993) -Republican

Bill Clinton (1993-2001)* -Democrat

Al Gore (1993-2001) -Democrat

George W. Bush (2001-2009 ) * -Republican

Richard "Dick" Cheney (2001-2009 ) * -Republican

Barack Obama (2009-2017) -Democrat

Joseph "Joe" Biden (2009-2017) -Democrat

Donald J. Trump (2017-2021) -Republican

Mike Pence (2017-2021) -Republican

Joseph "Joe" Biden (2021-Present) -Democrat

Kamala Harris (2021-Present) -Democrat

Copyright © 1998-2021 History Guy Media; Last Modified: 06.28.2021

"The History Guy" is a Registered Trademark.

Contact the webmaster