New York Giants

Championship History

Eli Manning holds the Lombardi Trophy after the 2008 Super Bowl

Eli Manning and Super Bowl Trophy

New York Giants

Championship History

New York Giants Logo

The New York Giants, the NFC Champions for 2011 enter the Superbowl for 5th time. Going back to the pre-Superbowl NFL Championship games, Superbowl XLVI will represent New Yorks's 19th appearance in an NFL Championship Game. The New YorkGiants earned the title of NFL Champions for four times (1927, 1934, 1938, 1956) in the days before the NFL the Super Bowl became the championship game. The New York Giants have been NFL/Superbowl Champions a total of 8 times in franchise history.

The New York Giants, led by Coach Tom Coughlin and Quarterback Eli Manning, play in Superbowl XLVI on Feb. 5, 2012 against the New England Patriots.



New York Giants as NFL CHAMPIONS: 1927**, 1934, 1938, 1956
New York Giants as SUPERBOWL CHAMPIONS: 1987, 1991, 2008, 2012

* *The 1927 Championship came as a result of League standings only. The playoff format for deciding NFL Champions did not begin until 1933.

New York Giants NFL CHAMPIONSHIP GAMES APPEARANCES: 1933, 1934, 1935, 1938, 1939, 1941, 1944, 1946, 1956, 1958, 1959, 1961, 1962, 1963

New York Giants SUPERBOWL GAME APPEARANCES: 1987, 1991, 2001, 2008, 2012


Tom Brady and Eli Manning Superbowl 

Tom Brady and Eli Manning played against each in the 2012 Super Bowl


New York Giants Links and Resources:


New York Giants Historical Wiki

New York Giants History


Copyright © 1998-2020 History Guy Media; Last Modified 01.19.20

"The History Guy" is a Registered Trademark.

History Guy SiteMap