Copyright © 1998-2009 Roger A. Lee and History Guy Media; Last Modified: 09.22.09

American Politics

California Governor's Race


California Bear Flag


With incumbent Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger unable to run in the upcoming Governor's race in 2010, the field is wide open, and on September 22, 2009, Meg Whitman announced her candidacy for the Governor's seat. Whitman is the former CEO of theCalifornia-based eBay company.



Links and Resources:

Former eBay Chief Running for Governor of California--New York Times, Sept. 22, 2009

Whitman makes campaign for California governor 'official' --San Jose Mercury News, Sept. 22, 2009



California's Gubernatorial Elections 2000-2008


2006 Election for California Governor

Arnold Schwarzenegger (Republican) 55.88%

Phil Angelides (Democrat) 38.91%

Peter Camejo (Green Party) 2.37%

Art Olivier (Libertarian) 1.32%

Janice Jordan (Peace and Freedom Party) 0.81%

Edward Noonan (American Independent) 0.71%


(R)= Democrat, (R)= Republican, (L)= Libertarian, (N)= Natural Law Party, (I)= Independent

Political Biofiles -Biography pages of American politicians and officeholders.

Presidents of the United States--A listing of American Presidents, with links to biographical information.--New

President Gerald R. Ford--the 38th President of the United States--*Updated*

Hillary Rodham Clinton

Barack Obama*New*-

Joe Wilson*New*-

Congressman Dave Reichert (R-WA-8th)

Former-House Majority Leader Tom DeLay (R-TX-22nd)

Congressional Candidate Darcy Burner (D-WA-8th)

Congressional Candidate Alex Alben (D-WA-8th)

Congressional Candidate Dave Ross (D-WA-8th)

County Councilman Shawn Bunney (R-1st District)

Maria Shriver--Former award-winning television journalist, best-selling author, current First Lady of California, niece to President John F. Kennedy, and daughter of Vice-Presidential candidate Sargent Shriver.

L. Paul Bremer--American diplomat who served as head of the head of the Coalition Provisional Authority in Iraq from 2003 to 2004.

Thomas Nast-American political cartoonist.

Lorenzo de Zavala--First Vice-President of the Republic of Texas.

William Howard Taft-President of the United States and later Chief Justice of the U.S. Supreme Court.

John D. Negroponte--American diplomat chosen to serve as the first National Intelligence Director.

Dr. Benjamin Rush-- Signer of the Declaration of Independence, member of the Constitutional Convention, noted physician and ardent supporter for the abolition of slavery.