Egypt's 5th President, Mohammed Morsi

President Mohammed Morsi

 Egyptian Flag

Flag of Egypt

 Presidents of Egypt
President Muhammad Naguib (in office June 18,1953 to November 14, 1954)--Assumed office after leading the Egyptian Revolution of 1952, in which King Farouk was overthown by then-Lieutenant General Muhammad Naguib and Gamel Abdel Nasser. Naguib becomes Egypt's first President.

President Gamal Abdel Nasser (in office November 14, 1954 to September 28, 1970)--Nasser became president after forcing President Naguib from office. Nasser served as president until his death. Nasser was succeeded by his vice-president, Anwar Sadat.

President Anwar el-Sadat (in office September 28, 1970 to October 6, 1981 )--Sadat became president upon the death of his predecessor, Gamel Nasser. Sadat waged war against Israel in 1973, and made peace with Israel in 1979. In October, 1981 Sadat was assassinated by Muslim militants who were unhappy with his peace treaty with Israel. He was succeeded by his vice-president, Hosni Mubarak.

President Hosni Mubarak (in office October 6, 1981 to February 11, 2011 )--Mubarak became president upon the assassination of his predecessor, Anwar Sadat. Mubarak imposed Emergency Rule upon the death of Sadat, and maintained his rule as an autocratic dictator until resignining the presidency in February, 2011 in the face of massive unrest.

As of February 11, 2011, the Supreme Council of the Armed Forces, led by Field Marshal Mohamed Hussein Tantawi Soliman, became the ruling authority upon the resignation of President Mubarak.

President Mohammed Morsi--(elected in June, 2012, overthrown by the military in July, 2013)--Morsi, running as the candidate of the once-outlawed Muslim Brotherhood, won Egypt's first free election with nearly 52% of the vote.

President Abdel Fattah al-Sisi -(President since June, 2014) As commander of the Egyptian military, al-Sisi overthrew the elected government of Mohammed Morsi in July, 2013. In May, 2014, and election was held (in which the Muslim Brotherood was not allowed to participate), and al-Sisi won 96% of the vote. He became president in June, 2014.



See the Latest News on Egypt

Tahrir Square Violence

See also:

Egyptian History
Wars of Egypt
Suez War

Six-Day War

Egypt-Libya War of 1977

Political Unrest in Egypt 2011 Timeline

World Biography: President Hosni Mubarak


Copyright 1998-2017 History Guy Media 02.11.17
"The History Guy" is a Registered Trademark.
History Guy SiteMap





privacy policy