History Lists

American Presidents Who Won the

Nobel Peace Prize

The History Guy Website

The Harper Encyclopedia of Military History: From 3500 B.C. to the Present
Bookmark and Share


American Presidents Who Won the
Nobel Peace Prize


Four American Presidents have won the Nobel Peace Prize.

President Woodrow Wilson--Wilson won the peace prize for his work in founding the League of Nations

President Theodore "Teddy" Roosevelt--President Roosevelt negotiated a peace treaty ending the bloody war between Japan and Russia.


President James Earl "Jimmy" Carter--Carter won the Nobel Peace Prize in 2002 for his many accomplishement in promoting peace and human rights, including the peace treaty between Egypt and Israel


President Barack Obama--According to the Nobel Prize Committee, President Obama won the award for "efforts to strengthen international diplomacy," his "vision of and work for a world without nuclear weapons" and for inspiring hope and creating "a new climate in international politics."

  Video of the announcement of President Obama's winning of the Nobel Peace Prize for 2009.


Video of President Obama's comments upon winning the 2009. Nobel Peace Prize

Copyright 1998-2011 Roger A. Lee and History Guy Media; Last Modified: 06.27.11

"The History Guy" is a Registered Trademark.

Contact the webmaster

Subscribe to our War, Conflict, & History Newsletter

* indicates required


Join the FREE Historyguy Update list. Receive regular updates delivered right to your inbox.

Email Marketing You Can Trust

Follow historyguycom on Twitter