Additional Info

361242_FREE Shipping on personalized NFL pens. Your team + your name!

Historyguy Main Page

Politics Main Page

New & Recent Conflicts
   A chronicle of newer and more recent conflicts and wars from around the globe

War and Conflict Links
   A listing of wars and war pages on the History Guy site

Comics History

  Portal for pages on the history of comics and superhero characters

Nations of the World

  Portal for pages on the nations of the world

Military History

  Portal for pages on military history

War Lists

   Lists of wars throughout history and from around the world


   Biographical files on individuals who impact American politics, culture, business, education and other arenas of life in the United States.

Governments of the World

   Pages on the governmental systems of selected nations.

U.S. Politics

United States national government and politics.

 What's New

The latest changes to the History Guy site.

About Us   

Information on the History Guy, the origin of the website, along with commentaries and a site map.

 Advertise on this Website


Copyright 1998-2016 History Guy Media 01.10.16

"The History Guy" is a Registered Trademark.

History Guy SiteMap


Additional Info

Pittsburgh Steelers LogoPittsburgh Steelers Helmet

  Bookmark and Share

Pittsburgh Steelers Playoff History
 Pittsburgh Steel Curtain

Pittsburgh's Steel Curtain in 1975

The Pittsburgh Steelers (founded 1933 and then known as the Pittsburgh Pirates), have an exciting and tradition-filled history of winning NFL Championships since the mid-1970s. In the 1970s, led by quarterback Terry Bradshaw and featuring the famous defensive line known as the Steel Curtain, the Steelers won four Superbowls. A Superbowl drought then ensued for the 1980s and half of the 90s, until the 1995 season, when, led by quarterback Neil O'Donnell, the Steelers once again entered the Superbowl, only to lose the championship to the Dallas Cowboys.

Terry Bradshaw

Pittsburgh Steeler Quarterback Terry Bradshaw

Returning to championship form in 2005, the Steelers, this time led by quartback Ben Roethlisberger, defeated the Seattle Seahawks. Ben Roethlisberger and his Steelers battled the NFL championship again on February 1, 2009 against the Arizona Cardinals, winning 27 to 23.

Two years later, they lost the Super Bowl to the Green Bay Packers 31 to 25.


The Steelers (then called the entered the NFL Playoffs for the first time in 1947, when they tied for first place in their division with the Philadelphia Eagles; both teams held an 8-4 record.

With their exciting, last-minute finish over the Arizona Cardinals in Superbowl 43, the Steelers hold the distincition of winning more Superbowls than any other team in NFL History.

The Steelers won the AFC North Division in 2010, and faced the Baltimore Ravens in the Divisional Playoff game on January 15, 2011. The Steelers won a tight game, defeating the Ravens 31-24 to go to the AFC Championship game. The Steelers lost the 45th Superbowl to the Green Bay Packers by a score of 31 to 25 on Feb. 6, 2011.

In the 205-2016 season, the Steelers again made the playoffs, and defeated their division rival Cincinnati Bengals on January 9, 2016 by a score of 18 to 16. The Steelers second opponent in the 2016 playoffs will be the Denver Broncos.

 Pittsburgh Steelers NFL Logo


Pittsburgh Steelers Win Superbowl XIV in 1976


Bookmark and Share

NFL Championships/ Super Bowl Championships (6)

Superbowl IX in 1975 (1974 Season)-Steelers won against the Minnesota Vikings 16 to 6

Superbowl X in 1976 (1975 Season) --Steelers won against the Dallas Cowboys 21 to 17

Superbowl XIII in 1979 (1978 Season) --Steelers won against the Dallas Cowboys 35 to 31

Superbowl XIV in 1980 (1979 Season)--Steelers won against the Los Angeles Rams 31 to 19

Superbowl XIV in 1996 (1995 Season)--Steelers lost to the Dallas Cowboys 27 to 17

Superbowl XL in 2006 (2005 Season)--Steelers won against the Seattle Seahawks 21 to 10

Superbowl XLIII in 2009 (2008 Season)--Steelers won against Arizona Cardinals 27 to 23

Superbowl XLV in 2011 (2010 Season)--Steelers lost to the Green Bay Packers 31 to 25


AFC Conference Championships (8)

AFC: 1974, 1975, 1978, 1979, 1995, 2005, 2008, 2010


Division Championships (19)

AFC Central: 1972, 1974, 1975, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1979, 1983, 1984, 1992, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, 2001

AFC North: 2002, 2004, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2014


Playoff Appearances (25)

NFL: 1947, 1972, 1973, 1974, 1975, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1979, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1989, 1992, 1993, 1994, 1995, 1996, 1997, 2001, 2002, 2004, 2005, 2007, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2014, 2015