Historyguy.com>Biofiles>American Presidents Who Won the Nobel Peace Prize

American Presidents Who Won the
Nobel Peace Prize


Four American Presidents have won the Nobel Peace Prize.

President Woodrow Wilson--Wilson won the peace prize for his work in founding the League of Nations

President Theodore "Teddy" Roosevelt--President Roosevelt negotiated a peace treaty ending the bloody war between Japan and Russia.


President James Earl "Jimmy" Carter--Carter won the Nobel Peace Prize in 2002 for his many accomplishement in promoting peace and human rights, including the peace treaty between Egypt and Israel


President Barack Obama--According to the Nobel Prize Committee, President Obama won the award for "efforts to strengthen international diplomacy," his "vision of and work for a world without nuclear weapons" and for inspiring hope and creating "a new climate in international politics."

  Video of the announcement of President Obama's winning of the Nobel Peace Prize for 2009.


Video of President Obama's comments upon winning the 2009. Nobel Peace Prize

Sources and Links on American Presidents Who Won the Nobel Peace Prize:

Nobel Peace Prize 1919

Wilson and the Nobel Peace Prize

Nobel Peace Prize in 1906

Nobel Prize and Treaty of Portsmouth by Theodore Roosevelt Association

A list of US winners of the Nobel Peace Prize

The Nobel Peace Prize 2002

Praise and skepticism greet Obama's Nobel Peace Prize